The short answer is yes, condensed milk is gluten-free and all brands of it sold in stores are also gluten-free. You can use condensed milk to make gluten-free Raffaello coconut balls and ice cream without an ice cream maker. You can also boil condensed milk and make dulce de leche caramel sauce that can be used to make delicious macarons with dulce de leche buttercream or churro macarons.
Can I Have Condensed Milk with Celiac?
Yes, you can have condensed milk if you have celiac. Sweetened condensed milk is gluten-free as it only contains milk, sugar, and a few other additional ingredients store-bought versions will have but those do not normally contain gluten. Gluten is found in wheat, barley, and rye, and none of those ingredients would ever show up in a can of condensed milk! If you are still unsure, check the package before buying it.
Is Condensed Milk Dairy-Free?
No, condensed milk is not dairy-free. If you are sensitive to dairy, you should find brands that offer dairy-free condensed milk. Always check the package before buying to make sure the product is free of the allergens you are sensitive to!
What Brands Of Condensed Milk are Gluten-Free?
The good news is that ALL brands of condensed milk are gluten-free! I would be surprised if you found a can of condensed milk with wheat or rye inside!
Is Evaporated Milk the Same as Condensed Milk?
No, evaporated milk is generally thickened by boiling it and letting the water evaporate while condensed milk is boiled along with added sugar. The process of preparing both is similar, only condensed milk is made with added sugar and can be further boiled into caramel sauce also known as dulce de leche.
Make Your Own Condensed Milk at Home
To ensure you are eating natural and organic condensed milk, the best way is to make it at home. Check out my guide on how to make condensed milk at home for more information!