Is Biscoff Spread Gluten-Free?

The answer is, unfortunately, no. Biscoff is made with cookies which are made with wheat flour. As Biscoff company stated, there are no gluten-free products produced by the Lotus company as wheat flour is one of the main ingredients in the cookies and the Biscoff spread. So, if you see a Biscoff cake or cookie recipe recommending that you use gluten-free flour to make a gluten-free version of the recipe (which I have seen), keep in mind, they probably forgot that the spread contains gluten by default.

biscoff spread on a piece of bread with a knife.

Can Gluten Intolerant People Still Enjoy The Speculoos Flavors?

Yes, you can! Speculoos flavor is created through the caramelization process of sugar plus cinnamon. So, to make a gluten-free Biscoff spread you will need to make gluten-free Lotus cookies first, then use them to make a gluten-free Biscoff spread.

Keep in mind, that there is a difference between Speculoos and Speculaas cookies. Speculaas flavor is created by a few different spices while Speculoos gets its unique taste from caramel and cinnamon.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *